EXCEL AND ISERIES

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EXCEL AND ISERIES

Short answer...yes, it's possible. Probably the most straightforward option for doing this is through VBA macros and ODBC.

EXCEL AND ISERIES

Robert, I have to explain this to my programmer. I am kind of new to this.....what would we have to do. Jaime

Comment

EXCEL AND ISERIES

Jaime, Has your programmer worked in Visual Basic or Visual Basic for Applications? If not, you're gonna need more than what we can share here in this format. Here's one way of doing it: A data source defined to access the AS/400; usually the Client Access ODBC driver is used for this. A way of tying the resulting record set derived from the query to your form. Easiest way would be to download the record set to a range of cells and then tie the range to the form's display. Bill > I have to explain this to my programmer. > I am kind of new to this.....what would we have to do.

Comment

EXCEL AND ISERIES

Bill, Programmer has never used Visual Basic. We were going to download our Part Number and description file to an excel sheet and use that as the source for the information, but, our part number file has 99999 part numbers and the spread sheet only has 65564 rows. I do know a little about Visual Basic and might be able to help!! My concern is how do I connect to the AS/400. If I am on a work sheet, do I do it from there or from the AS/400. I do apologize for this but, we planned on using Access for all of this to go into a data entry scenario but we also have Mac's and Access will not work on it, unless we do a virtual pc on the Mac. Other suggestions!! Other programs that you could recommend!! Thank you. Jaime

Comment

EXCEL AND ISERIES