• Show
Clear All

• RPG improvements

Our? prayers??

RPG improvements

ok, only mine

Comment

RPG improvements

I hope IBM puts this one on our nightmare list. I agree with Cozzi on this one--"My name is Bob, and I'm a fixed format programmer". Free format looks like some language that is not RPG at all. Supposedly, all for the sake of indentation. Ever hear of RPGAlive?

Comment

RPG improvements

EDIguru said: "Free format looks like some language that is not RPG at all." Amen. And, frankly, I'm glad. Of the 21 languages I've learned over the years, RPG was the most difficult to write programs in. Well, maybe APL was the worst, but for a touch typist that likes to code as fast as I can type, RPG is the worst. It slows me down tremendously. chuck Opinions expressed are not necessarily those of my employer.

Comment

RPG improvements

Chuck Ackerman wrote: > EDIguru said: "Free format looks like some language that is not RPG > at all." > > Amen. And, frankly, I'm glad. Of the 21 languages I've learned over > the years, RPG was the most difficult to write programs in. Well, > maybe APL was the worst, but for a touch typist that likes to code as > fast as I can type, RPG is the worst. It slows me down tremendously. Which is a great argument -for- coding in Free-format -and- using Code/Edit. Bill

Comment

RPG improvements