Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3

** This thread discusses the article: Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3 **
    ** This thread discusses the Content article: Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3 **
    This is a discussion about Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3.

Click here for the article.

** This thread discusses the article: Sorting and Searching Arrays Becomes More Manageable in V5R3 **
    I modified the code a little and get a Decimal Data error. Here is my code. I get it on the increment to the array in the DO loop. My idea here is to see if I could sorta partially in the first 366 elements and leave the rest. When I remove the pointer field from the logic it works fine. I've never used pointers before so sorry for my newbie stupidity....
    Code

Comment

The array is Packed(5,0) that you're using so the program is working as designed. You need to initialize each element to zero once you've allocated storage for it. Try this: eval %subarr(myarr: 1: 500) = 0

Comment

Has the SORTA function been enhanced, or are we still better off using the "C" sort?

Comment

Ya that worked Bob. So when allocating storage it must have an initial value no matter the type I assume. Your example shows: D DailySales S 7P 2 Dim(3660) BASED(pArr) eval pArr = %Alloc(%Size(DailySales)*366) Did you mean 3660 elements ? Is the *366 corresponding to the array elements or the storage space based on a formula ? Can you clear this up please. Thanks for your help. Nice article.

Comment