Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enhance Your Legacy RPG III Apps

** This thread discusses the article: Enhance Your Legacy RPG III Apps **
    ** This thread discusses the Content article: Enhance Your Legacy RPG III Apps **

Enhance Your Legacy RPG III Apps

I have been programming in RPG IV for about 7 years. Almost all of what I have learned has been self-taught through looking at existing code, trial and error, and Bob Cozzi's books. However, I am ashamed to say that I really do not understand some of the basics regarding subprocedures, bound pgms, modules, activation groups, etc. I am sure that I could make use of some or all of these attributes... where can I start to get a basic understanding of these things?

Comment

This is a big problem for AS/400 platforms. The documentation has gone out the window and ILE (i.e., activation groups and overrides, etc.) have become unnecessarily complicated.

Comment

I really enjoy reading the tips on the web site but really don't think interjecting politics into the articles is necessary. We get enough of that kind of stuff from the media.

Comment

I agree, and actually didn't think about this issue coming out post-election day. In fact, I don't even remember writing that statement, but I obviously did. If it were the middle of June 2005, I doubt anyone would have noticed, but no one's ever said I was one for having great timing.

Comment