IBM to build self-healing computers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IBM to build self-healing computers

Ralph you may want to think how you bad mouth other careers around here some of us are not programmers. I'm sure the rest us lazy Administrator types could give our opinions of programmers...... Ralph says...... "Last I checked, everybody and their mother wants to be an administrator so they don't have to strain themselves with all that thinking that's required to program." Brian Babineau Systems Administrator

I was a computer operator for 3 years in the 70's (sys 3) and the Novell 3.11 admin as well as client/server programmer for 2 years in early 90's in an AS/400 shop. Admin is a full time, hard job. I was referring to all the people who I happen to see on the net who are entering schools and ask "should I learn Java or network administration?" If they initially answered programming, they quickly end up in network admin. Then their eyes glaze over with TCP/IP, IPX, OSI, hardware, software, commands.... it's not easy. But as I said, everyone and their mother says they're going into network administration... Ralph

Comment