Printer Deletion Gotcha
Be careful of old printouts when deleting a printer from the AS/400. You delete a printer on the AS/400 by varying off its device and then deleting that device. Usually, when a printer is deleted, its output queue is automatically deleted at the same time. However, anytime spooled files are present in the output queue to be deleted, the system will not delete the output queue. It will delete the printer, but the output queue will remain in the system; it is up to you to clear it out and delete it. Output queues can only be deleted when they are empty.
To combat this problem, clear the output queue of a printer to be deleted before you delete the printer. This will save you a little bit of trouble.