file handling of unquie key

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• file handling of unquie key

The current application has a key that is built by using field keys of other files. This worked very well in the past, but now the key requires changing too much since this key has many relationships between the other files keeping everything synchronized is tedious. A brief example: I have a product master that maintains a multitude of manufacturer’s products, part of the key in the product master is the manufacturer code field from another file. The way companies are buying other companies today this once stable field is no longer and when it needs changing, 13 other files are affected.

So my question what is the best way to maintain a unique key in a series of related files if there is no applicative primary key? And is this the best way?

I have not programmed (RPG) in over twenty years, but I oversee IT operations so when I bring a contract programmer in I need to ensure this file be simplified. I have read using the RRN is not a good idea, but my thought is to just use a numeric number and just keep the other fields that are currently part of the key “free” to update on demand.

And how in today’s RPG code does one exactly auto create this unique key? Sorry if I appear a little out of it, it’s been a while.

I'm not sure I understand. Are you saying that the values in the key fields require changing?

Dave

Comment

Yes, portions of the key values change. In the example the mfg code for BB Bakery may be B111, GG Bakery buys them; the products need to be changed to GG bakery therefore the portion of the key meaning mfg code must be changed from B111 to say G222. Thanks Dave.

Comment