Performance / "Thrashing"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Performance / "Thrashing"

Doug Englander wrote: > Our system is very slow and has consistently high and steady CPU > usage throughout the day. I suspect there is too much batch running > at once. Attached is what our WRKSYSSTS screen shows. Can anyone tell > me in a nutshell what the problem might be, and what a quick solution > might be? Doug, I'm not a peformance expert by any means, and making suggestions without knowing the system's job makeup is borderline irresponsible, but a couple of things come to mind: 1) Are you letting the system tune itself? The system value QPfrAdj value controls this. 2) It looks like you have at least 3 pools (7,8 and 9) that are lightly used yet have a lot of memory assigned to them. If you prefer to manually adjust the memory assignments, or these pools are set to not be adjusted, I'd consider modifying their memory assigned. There are so many factors involved in how a system performs that you are asking for too much to have us look at that screen. The only quick advisement, not solution, that I could give would be to let the system tune it's performance by setting QPfrADJ appropriately. Bill

Hello I see that you have a high number of jobs in your system. - Perhaps there are old spool to delete, ask your users to do that - run the DSPJOBCTL command. It give you the values for the permanent and temporary job structures (initial and additionnal). If they are too small, the OS/400 have to allocate too many time ressources and memory to create them when the jobs number reach the maximum. There are 4 systems values to adjust (you can now them by put the cursor on the values and press F1). The "work management" book of IBM give you the way to now the value to give them. - and do what Bill said you. Regards

Comment

What are your settings for the Paging Options?

Comment

Where would I find that information?

Comment