Political question, comments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Political question, comments

Its also true that for every person who can figure out a programming language there are probably a thousand who can figure out a spreadsheet formula. Just as most spreadsheet users shouldn't try to write programs, most of you regular programming language wimps should stay away from manly languages like smalltalk . The main advantages of an OO language are in its expandability and its ability to hide complexity. If you don't tackle complex programming problems (and most of us don't) then there's not much point to using an OO language. Still I think OO is slowly winning the battle so you'd better adapt or plan to retire in a few years. I know as a visual basic programmer I used to ignore its limited OO features as too complicated to bother with. But now with the need to communicate with other programs via reference libraries and with more and more of the things I deal with as a programmer being "objects" which x.y syntax you can't avoid exposure to OO interfaces any more. In a generation I think you will have a hard time finding a non-OO programmer. I'm actually creating classes in the program I'm currently writing (an end user query tool to get AS400 data). Its an interesting change of mindset and once you get used to it hard to imagine doing things in a non-OO way. Even if managers want to be conservative and avoid OO before too long I think they will find that most talented young people coming out of college will be so steeped in OO that they won't be willing to use a non-OO language.