Help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help?

On Monday, August 17, 1998, 04:15 PM, Paul Tice wrote: Help! I'm a PC/Mac tech, but I recently bought a 5363 ($30 with 4 terminals and cabling..sheesh!) And now I've got a new obsession, namely, figuring this thing out! I'm looking for just about anything here...old manuals, basic tips, etc. Hey, at this point even a good whack on the head might help! And, of course, the local IBM remarketers just chuckle at me when I ask about the poor beast. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions (except the boat anchor one!!!) Paul Tice Hobbyist Computer nut. Professional PC tech, found myself the proud (if befuddled and bemused) owner of a S/36 and can't resist it. Neophyte to as/400 and S/3x, learning fast. ************************************************** ******************** I see this is your first post to the Midrange Computing Forum. O.K. I won't suggest the boat anchor approach, but I do strongly recommend that you find some non-computer oriented use for that old thing. Yes, you do need a good whack on the head! You mention "learning fast". Why learn obsolete technology at all would be my first question? Yes, the 5363 is obsolete! Your PC/Mac background may be blinding you to the realities of IBM Midrange life. What are you really trying to accomplish with your new $30 toy? Clearly the time you've already invested playing with that box was more valuable than the initial $30 expense. If you want to become a player in the midrange arena, try to start with an AS/400 with version 4 of OS/400. Spend some time really looking around this forum and ask some more questions. Don't waste your valuable time with a 5363. Sorry to burst your bubble. Believe it or not, my first opportunity to advise someone with a newly claimed 5363 occurred several years ago. I received I excited call for someone who had just found one sitting outside next to a dumpster! P.S. For an additional learning experience click here targe