ASP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASP

I'm an AS/400 programmer and have been programming a lot of web sites using Microsoft Active Server pages. I now want to build a site on the AS/400 and am excited about what CGI processing can do. However, I am concerned because I don't know how to emulate "session variables" on the AS/400. A session variable is a variable you can create during a session that carries through your session until you exit. For creating an order, I would like to store an order number in something on the AS/400 (like an ASP session variable) that would follow the user throughout the entire session. I don't want to pass the order number as a querystring or in the stdin data stream unless I absolutely have to. Is there a mechanism on the AS/400 I can use to attach data to a user's session? Thanks much, Jim Quinlan Clearwater, FL

ASP

One is a library called QTEMP; the other a data area *LDA. bobh

Comment

ASP

The 'Local Data Area' *LDA may be of help (DSPDTAARA *LDA).

Comment

ASP

You can use a datarea or the LDA (Local Dataarea). You could also pass the value as a parameter from program to program. There are values that can be retreived at anytime from an application like: user, job , program etc.. if that is the type of information you are looking for. HTH

Comment

ASP